The Right Path

Critique

Something seemed a little off to me with the regular HDR processed version above. The problem was this was a quick bracketed shot as I was moving between different vantage points for the McWay Falls shot. I only got 3 exposures with +/-1 EV and the scene clearly needed at least 6 stops.

If the problem of not enough exposures wasn’t bad enough, the 3 I had came out pretty nasty in photomatix, so I only ended up using 2 of them. Definitely not my typical workflow for HDR.

I hate blown out skies, but I thought I might be able to get away with it because of the golden rays. After a nap, it still didn’t look right, so I tried using Shock My Pic on the Mac (look for the iphone and mac review soon.) The result was kind of cool. Then I remembered Pixel Bender has a great oil paint filter. I think it put the finishing touches on this one.

What do you think?

The Right Path

3 thoughts on “The Right Path

Leave a Reply

